Hidayatullah National Law University Moot team qualifies for the World Rounds of John H. Jackson


About The Hidayatullah National Law University

Established in 2003, Hidayatullah National Law University has completed the journey of more than one and half a decade. In such a short span of time, HNLU has carved out a niche in the realm of legal education across India and the legacy is soaring towards newer heights day by day with moto Dharma Sansthapanartham  meaning ‘for the sake of establishing the primacy of the laws of eternal values.’

Named after the great legal luminary Justice Mohammed Hidayatullah, the University was established by the Government of Chhattisgarh under the Hidayatullah National University of Law, Chhattisgarh, Act (Act No.10 of 2003).

HNLU is the sixth in the series of National Law Schools across India. HNLU has been included in the list of the Universities maintained by the University Grants Commission under Section 2(f) of the UGC Act, 1956 and has been declared fit to receive Central assistance in terms of the rules framed under Section 12 (B) of the UGC Act, 1956. The university is recognized by the Bar Council of India under section 7 of the Advocates Act 1961.

About the Event

HNLU has won the coveted West and South Asian Rounds of the 19th John H. Jackson Moot Court Competition (JHJMCC) held virtually held on May 2, 2021 competing against the National Law School of India, Bangalore.

John H. Jackson Moot Court Competition is a simulated hearing of the WTO dispute settlement system. The teams prepare and analyze a fictive case and present their arguments both for the Complainant and the Respondent in front of a Panel which consists of WTO and trade law experts.

The HNLU team led by Vaidehi Balvally, with the team members of Shreya Harikumar, Sakshi Sharma and Shrilakshmi Sivanandam. In another feat, Shreya Harikumar also claimed the Best Oralist Award for the Final Round. The Team has qualified for the World Rounds to be held in June later this year.

About the panel

The panel of the judges for finals had the renowned authorities on the domain namely Prof. Werner Zdouc, Prof. Henry Gao, Prof. Kahaki Jere and Prof. Jennifer Hillman. This prestigious competition was hosted by ELSA International.


The theme of the competition was woven around Nutritional Labelling in International Trade Law. The competition saw the participation of around 20 teams.

Congratulating the team, Prof. (Dr.) V. C. Vivekanandan, Vice Chancellor of HNLU  said, “ The HNLU team is setting up a new bench mark and it is truly inspirational in these testing times. The talented team lives up to the dictum of – When things get tough – the tough get going – The HNLU fraternity applauds the efforts and achievement of the moot team and the Moot Court faculty advisors for their mentoring and help.”

Law Library LawBhoomi

Leave a Reply